Review: BB creams

Hello everyone!

So, I got a great response from my Review: Primers post, so I thought I’d do another review comparison! So today, it’s still about the face, but BB cream time!

So BB creams are a really good substitute for foundation as they are lighter coverage so will have less toll on your skin if it’s problematic. Usually BB creams come with certain claims like it helps your skin or provides SPF, whereas foundations are usually just foundations.

So, here I’m going to just talk about my 2 drugstore BB creams from Maybelline.BB creams

BB cream: Maybelline Dream Pure (£6.99)

I have both the Maybelline BB creams and I’ll talk you through the formulas.

dream pure

Dream Pure:

Maybelline Dream Pure BB. Our 8 in 1 BB with 2% salicylic acid is our best blemish fighter!

Skin looks smoother, even and hydrated. For healthy, clearer looking skin today and tomorrow. Oil free and with SPF 15.

Dream Pure BB from Maybelline blurs imperfections of the skin as blemishes, pimples or scars while it softens and moisturizes throughout the day, without any oil or other heavy ingredients.

So this BB cream is promoted to help you skin while giving you coverage. Does it actually help your skin? My opinion, not really. If your looking to improve your skin, don’t wear something even lighter, or don’t wear makeup at all. Sure, it’s better for your skin than normal BB cream or foundation, but in my opinion, it doesn’t do an awful lot. Not to say I’m not impressed, I actually quite like this!

I think this BB cream gives a matter look than the Dream fresh, which I’ll get onto, in a sec, but isn’t like foundation matte.

Would I buy it again: Yeah sure, it’s great for on holiday if you don’t want to wear too much but you still have oily skin.

BB cream: Maybelline Dream Fresh (£7.99)

dream fresh

Dream Fresh:

Maybelline Dream Fresh 8 in 1 BB Cream. Instant fresh-faced Glow without looking all made up. 
Our gel based formula enhances skin with 8 benefits in 1
Creates a natural glow
Compliments skin tone
SPF30 UV Protection
Hydrates all day
Blurs imperfections
Oil-free, non-greasy
Looks visibly smooth.
feels fresh

This BB cream is really nice. It gives a dewy finish so great for anyone with dry skin. I would maybe not go for it if you have oily skin like me, but hey, I still wear it, so it’s not definitely don’t go for it, I’d just choose the other one. It has lighter coverage than the Dream Pure I find, but don’t let it put you off, it’s still great!

It’s great that it has SPF, so again, great for if you want to take it on holiday (or if you live somewhere sunny).

Would I buy it again: Maybe, I would probably go for the Dream Pure, but I do like the finish of this one.

Hope you guys enjoy my review posts, and let me know if you have any requests for review posts and I really enjoy writing them!

Isabelle x

9 thoughts on “Review: BB creams

Leave a Reply

