Chinese new year!

Hello everyone!

I’m Chinese, so Chinese new year excites me a lot! I love how although I see most of my family at Christmas, I just get this feeling that it’s like an extra holiday that none of my friends from school get! But no, I don’t get a day off, I guess I could if I wanted to, like most of friends who will celebrate Eid will take it off, but I’ve always been in school for Chinese new year.

So, you may or may not see on BBC news that every year, there is such a large amount of people that go over the China to celebrate, and I guess it’s nice that so many families reunite for the new year.

For me, it’s still weird for me to say that new year is tomorrow, when I obviously know it’s 2016 and past the new year.

What do I do? I go to dinner or just a meal with my family and grandparents, usually there’s some money giving from the adults. There are so many deserts that are typical of Chinese new year.

Chinese new year

This may not look very appetising, I know, sorry, but it is the best thing ever. Literally what I look forward to the most at Chinese new year! I’m not really sure how to describe it. It’s sweet, you fry it and yeah, great description Isabelle!

Monkey2016So this year, it’s the year of the Monkey! Any monkeys reading this? I’m a golden dragon, yes golden. I only recently found out about this but basically…

The zodiac years are then split into 5 elements. Fire, wood, earth, water, metal. We are currently in the metal cycle, and the metal is gold. And, I’m just going to use the example of a dragon. So the some of the years of the dragon are:

1904, 1916, 1928, 1940, 1952, 1964, 1976, 1988, 2000, 20012.

They are split into:

Metal Dragons – 1940 and 2000

Water Dragons –1952 and 2012

Wood Dragons – 1904 and 1964

Fire Dragons – 1916 and 1976

Earth Dragons –1928 and 1988

Interesting right?

Anyway, although most of you won’t be celebrating Chinese new year, I hope the rest if 2016 brings you happiness and success! 🙂

Isabelle x

7 thoughts on “Chinese new year!

  1. I actually loved reading this as I don’t know a lot about Chinese new year! I don’t celebrate it but tonight I’m making a Chinese for dinner which is my families way to sort of celebrate it! Happy new year! -Tash x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to always take my sons to the Chinese New Year celebration when we lived in Honolulu. There was a parade with Lion dancers and afterward we would go out to eat. Sooo much yummy food! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Review: primers | My small corner

Leave a Reply

